Go to http://www.youtube.com/user/illustrationdan   and view a couple of the tutorial videos. Blog a paragraph about what you learned. Comment on what others have learned.
Molly
9/14/2009 10:11:09 pm

So i learned that the pen tool creates two kinds of lines. It makes straight lines as well as curved (bezier) lines. The straight lines are made by making an anchor point and then another anchor point, which connects them to make a line. To continue that line you just add another anchor point to connect the next line with the first. The curved lines are made the same way. However, they connect curved lines instead of stragiht ones by clicking the curved line button. Another fun fact is that when you are about to close up a shape, a white circle pops up to let you know that you can. With the pen tool, you can also add and delete anchor points.


hope its not all just confusing for everyone to read this, enjoy (:

Reply
Connor
9/14/2009 10:11:24 pm

I learned how to easily use the pen tool. You can manipulate the lines to create straight or curved lines. You can also add anchor points to create a more complex shape or design. You can also remove anchor points without deleting part of the shape you just drew.

Reply
rose
9/14/2009 10:11:34 pm

I learned which button the beiz tool.(spelled wrong)I learned how the hand tool is important and the short cut to use it. I also looked up the eyedropper tool. I did not know tha tyou could eye drop font. Those are the things i learn in the Youtube videos.

Reply
Stephanie
9/14/2009 10:12:44 pm

I watched the pencil tool video and the eye dropper video. These two videos helped me to understand how to use the eye dropper tool and the pencil tool more efficiently. Before I understood what the tools were, but did not really understand how to use them or what for. I also liked how the guy made mistakes because it shows that even the people who are skilled at using the program make mistakes just like everyone else.

Reply
Kalyn C
9/14/2009 10:12:57 pm

Okay, so i watched three videos. The pen tool, the hand tool, and the zoom tool. In the pen tool video, i learned that you can jsut click two points and it will make a line. In the hand tool video, i learned how to use the hand tool more easily. In the zoom tool video, i learned some keys you can press to zoom in and out more easily. If you press ctrl 0 it takes you back to the full art board. If you press ctrl + it zooms you in and if you press ctrl - it zooms you out.

Reply
Molly
9/14/2009 10:14:37 pm

I agree with Tanya because IT IS the perfect tool to make all kinds of shapes. Being able to make the curved or straight lines makes the pen tool quite a necessity when using illustrator!

Reply
colin p
9/14/2009 10:14:56 pm

from this video i learned how to use the pen tool better such ashow to add anchor points and curving straight lines with a bezier curve also that one can move to another part of the screen by holding down space. also that you can change a font with the eyedropper tool.

Reply
Matthew
9/14/2009 10:15:21 pm

I learned a few things. Like how if you hold space, it uses the hand tool without having to select it on the tools panel. It allows us to move around the screen much faster than normal. I also learned how to use the pen tool more efficentally becasue it took me forever to figure out how to simply use it.

Reply
Kalyn C
9/14/2009 10:15:29 pm

So, many people watched the pen tool video, so yeah, we all learned the same things. You shpuld try to watch more videos so youo learn more.

Reply
CAM
9/14/2009 10:15:42 pm

I learned in this video that you can make parts of line dissapear. I also learned that if you hold down space, it allows you to use the hand tool without selecting it in the toolbar. The video we watched also improved my pen tool efficiency.

Reply
Stephanie
9/14/2009 10:16:33 pm

Molly, you should consider doing a video of your own. lol
And Rose, I thought that eye dropping a font was interesting too.

Reply
Matthew
9/14/2009 10:17:57 pm

Yea connor, i agree that by adding more anchor points you can make more complex shapes. Casue you cant make Pac-Man without adding more anchor points to the elispse.

Reply
colin p
9/14/2009 10:18:00 pm

thanx kalyn i did not no u could zoom that way that should make things alot easier

Reply
Billy M
9/14/2009 10:21:14 pm

It looks like the pen tool is easier to use than I thought it was. Well thank God because I was gonna ignore that tool for a while until I was bestowed with the divine knowledge of "Pen Tool." I learned that the Pen tool does draw curved lines, and I realized those straight lines that come up when its in its tentative state dont actually appear with the curve. I also learned how to make nonstandard polygons with the pen tool, which was also easier than i thought- not that I have tried it after watching the video. But yeah Pen Tool looks easy now.

Reply
CAM
9/14/2009 10:21:22 pm

I agree with Joey, holding down shift with the pen tool is a very handy thing to know. I also agree with other people that you can manipulate the straight lines to create a curved line.

Reply
Connor
9/14/2009 10:22:28 pm

I agree with Stephanie that it was cool that he made mistakes. I noticed that Joey mentioned something I forgot and that is that if you hold shift it creates a straight line, with the pen tool.

Reply
Isabelle
9/14/2009 10:23:16 pm

I think the video was very useful because it displayed how to use the pen tool in a way that i could easily see instead of just reading the directions from the book. I liked being able to actually see the steps and i think this was a very usful video.-

Reply
Massimo
9/14/2009 10:23:59 pm

I learned how to more efficiently use the pen tool by being able to precisely see someone else with experience use it. I also saw the Gradient tool, and it helped introduce me to how it works.

Reply
Isabelle
9/14/2009 10:26:54 pm

I agree with Stephanie and Rose, the eye dropping tool was very interesting

Reply
Burley
9/15/2009 10:21:46 am

I learned that the pent tool isn't so complicated as i thought. I learned how to make straight lines and curved lines. It was very difficult trying to make the Bezier curves at first but then i got the hang of it. I also learned that you can manipulate your shapes after drawing them to make them look like actual objects.

Reply
Burley
9/15/2009 10:23:11 am

I agree with Molly. i used to use the pencil tool to freeform draw objects. Now i can use the pen tool to be more precise in my drawings.

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.