Comment on the Helvetica movie or on the typography research you have been doing to complete your project. Discuss what you think about a particular font or style. What has surprised you about typography? How can you use fonts in your designs more effectively? Which fonts appeal to you and why? Comments due Wednesday, Sept. 23, 2009 by 11:59 pm
Matthew
9/20/2009 11:12:29 pm

I thought that the Helvetica movie was good, but boring. I relly only payed attention when i saw the guy with the mellenium falcon in his room. However, the thing that suprised me the most was that there is a big controversy on how to use the Hevvetica font, people getting mad at eachother. I can use fonts more effectivly by using fonts to envoke feelings in people. I like the windings fonts becasue no one can read them.

Reply
colin p
9/20/2009 11:16:06 pm

from all of the research that i have done i have found that it does matter on the type of font you use, like i personally find that a readable yet interesting looking font such as Comic sans which is the look of comic book lettering. it is readable yet creative with smoothe strokes. i will use this new information on fonts to better my projects with new subconsience response form people

Reply
Stephanie
9/21/2009 03:51:13 am

The Helvetica movie was hilarious. I get that people are passionate about what they do and how important it is for advertisers to display their media, but I can't see a typefont being so important to me in my life. Yes, we use Helvetica everywhere, but I don't see how it has "life" in it. lol.
Also, when I was researching, I thought it was funny that Myriad pretty much copied Frutiger and now Adrian Frutiger is mad.

Reply
Burley
9/21/2009 10:29:29 pm

From all the research i have done on fonts, it surprised me that there are so many different variations of one typeface! I learned that certain types are used for certaion occasions. I realized that many different types of fonts have a different impact on the message you are trying to convey. My favorite font is Papyrus.

Reply
Kalyn C
9/22/2009 06:07:15 am

I liked the movie. it was very interesting to see how the fonts are 'invented' i guess you could say. my favorite font is novelty cuz it is fun and unusual.

Reply
Megan
9/23/2009 10:34:26 am

During my research, I was surprised to see how common Helvetica is used. I learned that you can uses fonts to make your message stand out and grab the reader emotionally. The novelty fonts appeal to me because they're interesting and fun.

Reply
CAM
9/23/2009 12:22:14 pm

I have been surprised at how many fonts I have never seen before. It is amazing how many there really are. I can use fonts in my designs by trying to express my emotions. My favorite font is courier because it has the old look to it becasue it was used in typewriters.

Reply
Molly
9/24/2009 04:21:56 am

One of my favorite fonts that iv'e always loved is definitely Comic Sans! Its just really interesting to me. Typography has been extremely surprising, i had no idea that each font had its own history of why it was made and what it says about someone. You can use fonts affectively, by using certain types of fonts for different things (: !!!

Reply
Tanya
9/24/2009 10:28:44 pm

the movie halvetica was interesting because you get to learn about the fonts and how they are used. My fovorite is Comic san because it is interesting and fun.

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.